Minutes N.E. Regional Meeting ADSA/ASAS July 24, 2002 Quebec City, Quebec, Canada

The meeting was called to order by President Pete Erickson at 11:35 a.m. Members present were provided with the agenda for the meeting, minutes from the last meeting and the Treasurers Report.

It was moved by Pat Schoknecht and seconded by Rich Barczewski to accept the minutes as presented. Motion passed.

Dr. Ken Cummings the ARPAS N.E. Director was given the floor. Dr. Cummings mentioned the need to find a new N.E. Director for ARPAS as his term was expiring. He also expressed a need for more scientists being certified and encouraged those present to participate in the program.

The group than recognized and thanked Morse Solomon for all his efforts on behalf of the N.E. Section for getting our awards for the programs we sponsor. It was moved and seconded to recognize Morse for his efforts. Motion passed.

The group also moved and seconded to thank Ken Cummings for his efforts on behalf of the N.E. Section for his support through Church and Dwight for their continuous financial support of the Young Scientist Award and their support of the new educator award. Motion passed. Finally it was moved and seconded to thank the ASAS/ADSA home office for their efforts on our behalf. Motion passed.

A discussion was held regarding the planning of a future N.E. Symposium to be held, perhaps at the 2004 annual meeting. Proposals would have to be developed and submitted to the national organizations for consideration. Tony Capuco (incoming 2004 secretary/treasurer) was appointed Chairman of this effort.

The merger of the N.E. sections of the ASAS and ADSA was then discussed. The proposal was sent by e-mail to the members and additional copies of the proposal were passed out to those who didn't see it. Tom Hartsock put together the proposal. The reason for the merger is that our organizations meet together and it makes more sense to merge. It was moved by Pat Schoknecht and seconded by John Comerford to merge the N.E. sections of ASAS and ADSA together. We currently have support from the parent organizations and are not in jeopardy of losing support from them. Tom Hartsock offered a friendly amendment to the proposal on page one, article 3 section 1 which reads to provide a meeting, to be changed to provide an organization. This more accurately describes the situation. It was moved by Rich Barczewski and seconded by Keith Inskeep to accept the friendly amendment. Motion passed. The original motion was then voted on and passed.

Tom Hartsock then presented the graduate student paper competition awards. A total of 16 papers were entered in the competition and 15 papers were presented. Judges for the event were Amy Ordakowski, Jim Wohlt and Ken Kephart. All students received a \$200 travel allowance and the winners were: 3rd place, Erin Robblee from the University of New

Hampshire, 2nd place was Kristin Givoni from the University of Connecticut and first place went to Sarah Hale of the University of Maryland, College Park.

Wendie Cohick presented the N.E. ASAS/ADSA Young Scientist award to Dr. Michael Van Amburgh. John Comerford presented the N.E. ASAS/ADSA Distinguished Service Award to Dr. Bill Heald.

New officers were introduced for the coming year. President will be John Comerford, Vice President will be Wendie Cohick and Secretary/Treasurer will be Rich Barczewski.

John Comerford then made a presentation to Peter Erickson for his efforts in serving the section as president for the past year and to Tom Hartsock for his willingness to step down as ASAS N.E. Regional President when the two groups merged officers and for his efforts put forth to work out the details of the merged association.

There being no further business it was moved seconded and passed to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed.