Minutes from the 2015 Northeast ADSA/ASAS Section meeting Held at 2015 Joint Annual Meeting of the ASAS, ADSA, and CSAS in Orlando, FL Wednesday, July 15, 2015

The minutes from the 2014 meeting were distributed. A motion to approve was made by Dr. Steve Zinn and seconded by Dr. Tom Hoagland. Motion passed.

The treasurer's report was presented by Secretary/Treasurer Dr. Kevin Harvatine. A motion was made to accept the report by Dr. Steve Zinn, seconded by Dr. Kristen Govoni. Motion passed.

The Northeast Section Graduate Student Paper Competition Results were presented by Dr. Kristen Govoni, who also thanked the competition judges for their time (M. Mirando, J. Cole, S. Friedman, W. Cohick).

First Place: Bridget Aylward, University of Delaware Second Place: Amanda Jones, University of Connecticut Third Place Daniela Melendez, University of Calgary

Dr. Debra Aaron, ASAS President gave the President's report. Dr. Aaron provided an update on membership, programs (initiatives), interactions with international societies, communication efforts and public policy from ASAS. Next year's JAM will feature electronic posters. Innovate 2016 will focus on Animal Health.

Dr. Tom Hoagland (ASAS board representative) and Jacelyn Hemmelgarn (ASAS) were thanked for their service.

Dr. Dave Edwards presented several proposals for future events for the NE Section/Branch, including a NE webinar series, a graduate student video abstract competition, and NE face to face meetups at future ADSA/ASAS meetings. Members were invited to provide input on future events they would be interested in attending.

Incoming president Dr. Dave Edwards recognized outgoing President Dr. Ken Griswold for his service to the section.

Meeting was adjourned, and the NE Section Symposium, entitled "Bridging the gap between animal protein production and consumers, current and future" was held.

Questions/things I can't remember:

Did we have award winners last year? Were new board members voted on before the meeting?