

2016 Northeast ADSA Branch/ASAS Section Business Meeting

Held at 2016 Joint Annual Meeting of the ASAS, ADSA, CSAS and Western Section ASAS in Salt Lake City, UT

Friday, July 22, 2016

The meeting was called to order at 2 PM by President Dr. Dave Edwards and the current executive committee was introduced.

The minutes from the 2015 meeting were distributed by Vice President Dr. Kevin Harvatine. A motion to approve was made by Dr. Steve Zinn and seconded by Amanda Jones. Motion passed.

The treasurer's report was presented by Secretary/Treasurer Dr. Sarah Reed. A motion was made to accept the report by Dr. Steve Zinn, seconded by Dr. Kristen Govoni. Motion passed.

The Northeast Section Awards were presented by Dr. Dave Edwards. The 2016 recipient of the Young Scientist Award – Research was Dr. Kasey Moyes (University of Maryland). The 2016 recipient of the Young Scientists Award – Educator was Dr. Dennis D'Amico (University of Connecticut).

The Northeast Section Graduate Student Paper Competition Results were presented by Dr. Kristen Govoni, who also thanked the competition judges for their time (S. Smith, K. Harvatine, T. Gressley).

First Place: Cynthia Shulte, University of Maryland Second Place: Amanda Jones, University of Connecticut Third Place: Sambhu Pillai, University of Connecticut

Dr. Michael Looper, ASAS Past-President gave the ASAS President's report. Dr. Looper provided an update on membership, interactions with international societies, communication efforts (via JAS and Animal Frontiers), and strategic planning from ASAS. Innovate 2016 will focus on Animal Health and be held in Brainerd, MI on Sept 13 through 15th. Dr. Debra Hammernick (University of Nebraska) is the incoming ASAS president. Dr. Steven Zinn (University of Connecticut) is the 2016 President-elect. Dr. Kristen Govoni (University of Connecticut) is the Northeast Representative to the ASAS Executive Board. Amanda Jones (University of Connecticut) is the graduate student representative to the ASAS Executive Board.

Dr. Tom Hoagland (ASAS board representative) and Jacelyn Hemmelgarn (ASAS) were thanked for their service.

Dr. Dave Edwards reported the results of the 2016 election. New officers are:

Secretary/Treasurer: Kasey Moyes (University of Maryland)
ASAS Board Representative: Kristen Govoni (University of Connecticut)
Graduate Student Representative: Megan Smith (University of Delaware)

There was no old business to discuss.

Under new business, discussion centered around plans for upcoming years when there is no joint annual meeting. In particular, the structure and location of the graduate student competition was discussed. A graduate student video abstract competition has been proposed and will be investigated. It was suggested that at least a portion of the competition be live to allow for questions. A virtual webinar was suggested to replace the symposium held in past years at JAM. In addition, a suggestion was made for the NE ASAS/ADSA to sponsor a speaker at both the ADSA and ASAS meeting in future years. The possibility of a sectional meeting was discussed. The location (in person or virtual) of the business meeting will be discussed. A survey may be sent out to members to elicit additional feedback.

Incoming president Dr. Kevin Harvatine recognized outgoing President Dr. Dave Edwards for his service to the section.

Meeting was adjourned, and the NE Section Reception was held.