## **Northeast ASAS-ADSA Annual Meeting Minutes**

12:30 to 2:00 p.m. Tuesday, July 11 Convention Center Room 200J 2006 National ASAS-ADSA Annual Meeting Minneapolis, Minnesota

NE-ASAS-ASAS President Tony Capuco (MD) called the meeting to order. Capuco introduced the current NE-ASAS-ADSA Executive Committee including himself Tad Sonstegard (MD) (Vice President), and Rich Erdman (MD) (Secretary-Treasurer).

Capuco asked for motion to approve the minutes from the 2005 Meeting distributed prior to the 2006 Meeting. Mark Varner (MD) moved and Julie Smith (VT) seconded the motion to approve the minutes. Motion passed.

Tad Sonstegard gave the Treasurer's Report. The NE-ASAS-ADSA treasury had a balance of \$8,872 on 12-31-04 and balance of \$7,689 on 12-31-05, a decrease of \$1,183. While the association is solvent, expenses have exceeded income for the last few years primarily due to its generosity in supporting graduate student travel for participants in its presentation contest (\$150 per student) and the contest awards (\$500, \$300, and \$150 for first, second, and third place recipients, respectively). While expenses will likely be near income in the current year due as a result of reduced participation in the graduate student contest, eventually adjustments will need to be made. A motion was made and seconded to approve the Treasurer's Report. Motion passed.

## Capuco then recognized the following individuals:

- 1. Dr. Elliott Block from Church and Dwight for anticipated continued support of the NE-ASAS-ADSA Young Scientist Award.
- 2. Dr. Morse Solomon from USDA-Beltsville for once again securing plaques for the NE Association's Distinguished Service and Young Scientist Awards.
- 3. Dr. Tom Hartsock, Northeast Representative on the National ASAS Board of Directors
- 4. Meghan Wulster-Radcliffe, newly appointed Executive Director for ASAS.
- 5. Paula Schultz, ASAS Associate Executive Director, who serves as the liaison with the NE-ASAS-ADSA Board.
- 6. David Buchanan, current ASAS President.

## Hartsock reported on National ASAS activities including:

- 1. The decision by the ASAS Board to proceed with prepublication drafts of Journal of Animal Science scientific papers.
- 2. Strategic planning activities by the ASAS Board of Directors.
- 3. The upcoming 2008 ASAS Centennial Meeting.

- 4. Time spent by the Board dealing with FASS financial issues that now seem to be on track.
- 5. Congratulated the NE-ASAS-ADSA on its decision to support the NE consortium's successful Higher Education Challenge Grant for an Animal Sciences image gallery.
- 6. Reminded members of the 4-society meeting including ASAS ADSA, Poultry Science Association and the Mexican Animal Science Society will be held in San Antonio in July 2007, the location of next years NE-ASAS-ADSA Meeting.

Buchanan gave a brief report on his activities as ASAS President. This included travel to regional ASAS meetings and the European Animal Production Society. He reported on an ASAS Board approved new award for an early career Animal Scientist. He formally introduced and welcomed Meghan Wulster-Radcliffe as newly appointed Executive Director for ASAS.

Erdman presented the report on the NE-ASAS-ADSA Graduate Student Competition. Due to a family commitment, Steve Zinn (CT), Graduate Competition Chair, was not able to attend this year's meeting. In his absence Limin Kung (DE) chaired the session. Judges included Kung, Erdman and Capuco. This year's award recipients included Jorge Elizondo, Penn State University (1<sup>st</sup>), Neal Brown, Penn State University (2<sup>nd</sup>) and Daniel Berthiaume, University of Vermont (3<sup>rd</sup>). There were only 3 contestants this year and Erdman encouraged faculty to encourage their students to consider competing next year, noting travel awards given to all participants.



Jorge Elizondo (right) receiving the first place award from Rich Erdman in the NE-ASAS-ADSA Graduate Student Presentation Contest.

The recipient of the NE-ASAS-ADSA Young Scientist Award was Dr. Matt Wilson from the Animal Sciences Department at West Virginia University. Erdman presented the plaque and Nominator, Paul Lewis from WVU, gave the citation.



Matt Wilson (center), West Virginia University receiving NE-ASAS-ADSA Young Scientist Award from Rich Erdman along with nominator Paul Lewis (right).

Sonstegard presented the 2006 NE-ASAS-ADSA Distinguished Service Award to Dr. Rex Powell from Animal Improvement Laboratory at USDA-Beltsville.



Tad Sonstegard presenting the NE-ASAS-ADSA Distinguished Service Award to Rex Powell, USDA-Beltsville (right).

Capuco then asked John Riesen (CT) to give an update on the USDA Challenge Grant with the Animal Science Image Gallery. Riesen first thanked the NE societies for supporting this project monetarily. He indicated that grant reviewers cited our support as a key factor in their review. He also indicated that the image gallery will be migrating to the ASAS web site and he encouraged submissions by society members.

Capuco reminded attendees about previous discussions about a NE sponsored symposium at our next annual meeting. Those with potential topics should come forward to the executive committee.

As the final order of business, Capuco introduced the incoming NE-ASAS-ADSA Executive Committee including Tad Sonstegard (President), and Rich Erdman (Vice President) and newly elected Secretary-Treasurer, Dr. Mike Van Amburgh (NY).

Sonstegard then presented an honorary gavel to Tony Capuco in appreciation for his service as NE-ASAS-ADSA President during the last year and executive board member the last 3 years.



Incoming president, Tad Sonstegard (left) presenting honorary gavel to Tony Capuco, outgoing NE-ASAS-ADSA President.

Being no further business, Capuco asked for a motion to adjourn that was provided by Mark Varner (MD) and seconded by Sheila Andrew (CT). The motion passed and the meeting adjourned at 1:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Rich Erdman Outgoing Secretary-Treasurer NE ASAS-ADSA