Minutes 33rd Annual Meeting of Midwestern Section of ASAS and Midwestern Branch of ADSA

Wednesday, March 15, 2000 Polk County Convention Center Des Moines, IA

- 1. Call to order: The meeting was called to order by James Males, ASAS Midwestern Section President, after the breakfast sponsored by Cargill Animal Nutrition Division, Diamond V. Mills, Inc., Milk Products, Inc. and Vetlife.
- 2. Recording Secretary's Report: Jim Quigley presented the minutes of the 32nd Annual Meeting and the Treasurer's Report, which were distributed at the tables. These were approved as presented.
- 3. Program Secretary's Report: Gretchen Hill informed the audience that 329 abstracts were submitted.
- 4. Sponsor Recognition: Mike Day, Midwest ASAS President-Elect, recognized the sponsors of the joint meeting and thanked them for their generous support. A list of sponsors and representatives was distributed at the tables.
- 5. Program Committee Chair Recognition: Rick Grant, Midwest ADSA President, introduced the program chairs and thanked them for their dedicated efforts to make the Midwest meeting successful.
- 6. Midwest Board Report: Jim Males briefly reviewed issues of attention by the joint boards. Attendance for the 2000 meeting was 1096.
- 7. Young Animal Scientist Awards: Respective committee chairs read the citations and representatives of the sponsoring firms presented award winners with a plaque and check.
 - A. Outstanding Young Teacher Award (C. Ernst): Recipient Matt Doumit; Sponsor MoorMan's, Inc.
 - B. Outstanding Young Extension Specialist Award (A. Sutton): Recipient John Smith; Sponsor Land O' Lakes
 - C. Outstanding Young Researcher Award (J. Garrett): Recipient Matt Lucy; Sponsor Roche Vitamins Inc., Animal Health & Nutrition
 - D. Outstanding Young Agribusiness Award (D. Williams): Recipient Deanna Hancock; Sponsor ADM, Animal Health and Nutrition
 - E. Innovation in Dairy Research (R. Grant): Recipient Beaulieu et al.; Sponsor Land O' Lakes
- 8. Other Awards:
 - A. NPPC Awards for Innovation: Basic Research Award K. J. Touchette et al., University of Missouri
 - B. NPPC Award for Innovation: Applied Research Award B. F. Wolter et al., University of Illinois
 - C. NPPC Award for Innovation: Education Award: K. J. Stalder et al., University of Nebraska
 - D. Competitive papers awards (S. Franklin): Undergraduates: 3rd K. Hargrave, Michigan State University, 2nd S. Wesolowski, Michigan State University, 1st K. Freise, University of Illinois: Sponsor--Farmland Industries, Inc; Graduate: 3rd D. Kendall, Purdue University; 2nd –

J. Schoonmaker, The Ohio State University, 1st – T. Armstrong, North Carolina State University; Sponsor--DeKalb Feeds Inc.

- E. Contemporary Issues Competition (C. Ernst): 3rd T. Hoffman, Michigan State University, 2nd S. Moyer, Michigan State University, 1st R. Hawkins, North Dakota State University; Sponsor Optimum Quality Grains, LLC
- F. Academic Quadrathalon (M. Bauer): 14 teams at Midwest, Lab Michigan State University, Quiz Bowl – University of Wisconsin, Madison, Oral – South Dakota State University, Written – University of Illinois, Overall – University of Wisconsin, River Falls. Sponsor – APC Company and Intervet.
- 9. FASS Report (C. Sapp): C. Sapp reviewed the operation of FASS, including financial status and 2001 FASS Joint meeting and activities of Dr. Glenn in Washington.
- DISCOVER Conference (B. Baumgardt): workshop in 2000 9/10 to 9/13, Probiotics and Prebiotics in Livestock, Nashville, IN. Brochures available. Workshops are informal and interactive and include recreational activities.
- 11. Introduction of new officers (M. Eastridge):

ASAS:	President Elect: Secretary-Treasurer:	Rodger Johnson Alan Grant
ADSA:	Secretary-Treasurer: Director:	Sharon Franklin Dave Fisher
Minutes taken by:	Jim Quigley Secretary-Treasurer, Midwes	st ADSA